Ever Wonder?

“For Attractive lips, speak words of kindness.
For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.
For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.
For beautiful hair, let a child run their fingers through it once a day.
For poise, walk with the knowledge that you never walk alone. 
People, more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed. Remember,
if you ever need a helping hand, you will find one at the end of each of your arms.
As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself and the other for helping others.” 

― Sam Levenson

 

It’s no secret. The parking lot at my kids’ middle school is….(trying to think of a non explicit word). HUNGER GAMES!! That’s what it’s like!! This morning, with snow and ice, it was unusually worse than the norm. I like to go to the very end of the lot, turn to the left and drop my kids along the sidewalk on that end of the school. Sixth graders line up on that end and Amanda goes straight to band (her first hour class.) SO we do our usual. As they jump out I put my left blinker on telling other drivers I’d like to merge over so you can have my spot and drop your kiddos off. There are three cars ahead of me following this same thing. About five cars drive by us and stop to drop their kids, next to our vehicles. Really? Couldn’t give us three a chance to get out of the way. Well the vehicle in front got tired of waiting so they forced their way over. That leaves me and the car in front of us. Someone decided to pull in front of her….side ways. So now we are trapped unless someone lets me out. At this point my blood starts boiling. Why in the am I so damn nice and let people over? Eventually traffic slows, and we are finally able to get over…. I thought on the way home about how many times I could have jumped in between cars and made someone slam on their brakes or piss someone off. I guess at 7:30 in the morning my mean bone hasn’t woken up and I wasn’t in the mood.

So here’s my question: do you ever wonder if your acts of kindness makes a difference or are all those cute sayings a bunch of bull?

 

    Sometimes it feels like every step forward is two steps backwards. We are still in the same place. How do we finally start taking two steps forward? I don’t always mind falling back. Gives you something to learn from. If we never messed up or fell on hard times, would we ever know what our full potential was? I like what my oldest daughter said, “Mom, I don’t always have to be first or I’d never have anything to shoot for.” Very wise words from a young heart. I’ve never really wanted to be on top, just in a place in the middle. A place where goodness mattered and your heart was open for all to see. A place where people didn’t take advantage of your goodness or kindness. Instead they passed it on. Now isn’t that a fantasy. I feel like I have a mountain of kindness to share. An overwhelming amount of positive energy. It all came from others who took the time to stop and write a note, email or text to say hey I’m thinking of you. I want to share my good energy with others. But, this dark thought of not wanting to waste it on others who don’t care….. Guess that’s the faith. When you do something kind, you just have to trust that it will touch them in a positive way.

Ok too much deep thought….

(
)
(_)0

Leave a Reply

