When did going to school cost so much?

“Whatever the cost of our libraries, the price is cheap compared to that of an ignorant nation.”
― Walter Cronkite

    I’m not speaking about college. I’m talking about elementary and above education. Maybe it’s just me, but it seems like every time we turn around we are passing out 10.00 bills to the kids for this or that activity. It’s not upsetting in the way I’m complaining. After having spent a few years in the fifth worst school district in the nation, I understand all too well how underfunded schools are. I guess since we were in school, educations have been placed on the bottom of the funding list. We must live in some sort of screwed up society. We put researching meaningless things above the needs of our school systems. Should educating the next generation be at the top of the list? By any and all means? Be it technology updates or school maintenance? Why are so many districts getting their funding cut short? That to me, is about as dumb as cutting Meals on Wheels.

I am super proud to be in the school district we are in. We have some great teachers and administrators working hard and it shows in my kids. When we moved here both Amanda and Andrew were struggling. Not because they have a learning issue, but because these schools were so far ahead of Washington schools. Amanda was still struggling to read at her level. The awesome part is being able to recognize these issues and have a team of teachers work with the kids to get them caught up. It helps that the kids themselves could adjust their attitudes and focus on learning. With Andrew it took a while, but he came around. His self esteem used to be in the dirt when it came to school. I also really like how they are making learning interesting. This is where the 10.00 bills come into play. Just this month we spent money on kite materials and model rockets. This was part of Amanda’s science class. Amanda also was a part of an 8th grade social project in which they spit the 8th grade up into three categories: German Nationals, Nazi, and Jewish people. They kids got to experience what it was like during World War Two. They are also reading The Diary of Anne Frank. It really impacted the kids. They got to experience discrimination and how it felt to discriminate. Amanda had a hard time with it. She doesn’t have a mean bone in her body. I think the project left a great impression on her.

I feel fortunate that we moved here and I shouldn’t take for granted what we have. It’s hard to live here. There are some “neat” tourist activities here, but other than that it’s a desert with a mountain view. It’s really an uninspiring place to be. I guess you can say that this is not my genre. The only way to really change my view is to get out there and discover more of what is available. I’m ready to go. Most of the festivals and events I want to attend are on the other side of the state…the pretty side of the state. I am, however, going to find the wild flowers this year. That is my number one Spring goal. Anyways, enough yammering this morning. I just thought I’d complain/praise the school district.

Just Got this alert on my phone… Here’s to hoping we actually get something other than wind out of this…

(
)
(_)0

Leave a Reply

