Whoa Nelly!

No, this is not the beginning of a new chapter in my life; this is the beginning of a new book!
That first book is already closed, ended, and tossed into the seas;
this new book is newly opened, has just begun! Look, it is the first page! And it is a beautiful one!

― C. JoyBell C.

    So yesterday was a smack back into reality. I had been feeling really awesome over three weeks….so when I got chemo yesterday I just felt like ack. Part of it probably had to do with lemonade and dairy products. I didn’t even think about it when I had a bowl of cereal yesterday morning or when I ate cheese in my salad. Ack! It might have also had something to do with the steroids. I really despise that stuff. Makes me want to crawl out of my skin and run to Canada at mock 10 with my hair on fire. Of course, all night I had hell with hot flashes. I’d wake up soaking wet, have to turn the fan on high, and fall asleep all to wake up freezing cold. Today I am just tired from not sleeping. I am SOOO glad this will be over with. So the new plan, once this is over, is to go in and have a complete body scan and an MRI. The MRI is to make notes where all the scar tissue is in my leg. That away when I have my other scans it won’t alarm them to be cancer and it’s also the first place they look for it to come back. Then I get a CT of my chest. If it’s going to come back, it will most likely come back as lung cancer. Not inside my lungs, but the tissues on the outside. Every three months for the first few years I will have to come in for blood work and a check up on my lymph nodes. Every six months for 5 years I will do the scans. I really pray and hope that it doesn’t come back. I hope I’ve had enough chemicals poured into my body to just eradicate any idea of it thinking about coming back.

    Today is laundry day. Have quite a bit of it to get done. I think I’ll make some breaded pork chops and mashed taters for dinner. Make up some yummy homemade gravy and a nice garden salad. Top the plates off with homemade apple sauce. Looking through my bread recipes and decided on some yummy rolls. I want to coat the chops with panko and use cowboy seasoning. We are almost out of it and I decided to try and find it on the internet to make our own. It took a while to find the actual rub. The kind we use has coffee and cocoa in it with cinnamon. Here’s what I found:

Spice Rubbed Cowboy Chops

Serves 6-8 using 1/2 of the spice rub mixture

6-8 pork loin chops (each 3/4 – 1″ thick, about 2.5 lbs)

Cowboy spice rub:

1.5 tbsp smoked paprika

1 tbsp chipotle chili powder

1 tbsp brown sugar

2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1.5 tsp garlic salt

1 tsp ground coriander

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground black pepper *

3/4 tsp kosher salt, or to taste *

The stuff is excellent on pork. It is one of the dry rub Dan uses on baby backs. Stuff is sweet, smoky and spicy. I think I even have everything on there. Since I still have the container of the other stuff, I’ll quadruple the recipe and use the left over container to put it in. The best part about making these rubs yourself means you do not have to deal with the extra crap they put in it. There is another one that is sweet and spicy that is similar to cowboy, but uses chipotle and cinnamon in the mix. I like the cowboy one because it reminds you what the cowboys would have on them if they were out on the range. It pairs excellently with pork.

    (
)

    (_)0

One thought on “Whoa Nelly!

  1. rugeranne says:

    I am so thankful to God about your blood work!! It dawned on me last night what you were sharing with me yesterday afternoon. I truly believe He’s taking care of everything. ❤ I'm going to try some of this spice rub on our ribs. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

