Springing Forward

If you are depressed, you are living in the past…

If you are anxious, you are living in the future…

If you are at peace, you are living in the present.

Springing forward, that is our new quote. Dan found it on facebook. I don’t remember if there is an author to that quote, but I liked it.


I think we’ve seen the end of snow storms…praying for rain!

I didn’t really feel the time change. I guess maybe it is because we were having too much fun last weekend. What I do notice are the changes outside. The pine tree out front is loaded with little birds making their nests. I’ve started seeing the red tailed hawks more often and the antelope have arrived at their summer grazing grounds. The weather is starting to warm up. With the exception of Monday, the entire week has hit the upper 60s. My body is springing into it’s time to garden mode. I’m ready to garden this year!

I have drawn up plans for the gardens. I’m hoping this year won’t be as hot as last year. Last April we bought an A/C because the temps were reaching upper 80s. The first tsep to the gardens will be cleaning them out. Since I was on yukie chemo last year, we let the garden go. Partially because I couldn’t be out in the sun and it was so hot. The other part was being so darn sick. This year, however, will be a different story. I have learned over the past years of what won’t grow here and what will. Once we get the yard cleaned up, we can get some poopoo dirt and mix it into our starving parched soil. The biggest cost of this will be water. I’m still devising a plan to conserve water but effectively water everything. I also think I’ll drag my green house out and move it over to the garden. I got this idea off of pintrist to use toilet paper rolls to start seedlings. They are biodegradable and a great way to reuse something we throw away. Now if I can just get everyone to save them.

Super awesome idea!! You can find it HERE

I honestly look forward to getting up in the early hours and working in the garden. That’s always a peaceful place for me. I also want to work on some fairy houses with Amber. I think she will enjoy that little project and I’m sure her imagination will flourish at the idea. Speaking of my Bee… Lately I’ve been trying to really spend quality time with the kids doing the things they enjoy. With Amanda and Andrew it has been playing minecraft. That is a really addicting game to play. We use the xbox on the 60 inch TV so all four of us can play, but most of the time it’s just Amanda and I. Andrew has gotten into playing Guitar Hero, so we rock out in the evenings. Little Bee and I got to go to an Avalanche game this past Sunday. If there is one thing I have learned about Bee it’s that God gave her 2 million words to use in one day. Normally it drives me crazy, but I realized that everything she has to say is important to her and if we don’t listen to her now, later on she will find someone who will listen and that someone might be less than par. So as painful as it is…I’ve learned to stop what I’m doing and just listen.

Besides gardening and kiddos, I am excited that on the 25th I will start my last run of chemo!! I for some reason thought this coming Monday I started. I guess I’m so used to when you hit that point of feeling better it is time to start again. I still have another week of freedom to go. I will hit my last treatment in this series on April 8th. That is exactly 364 days to the start of this whole mess. What is even more exciting is that my close friend and sister in my heart is coming that next week. That might change a bit as we can’t decide between April or May. I think it’d be awesome if she came down when we started the real garden work. I love doing “hard work” projects with her. She keeps us laughing and makes them fun. That and when I miss her after she is gone I can go into our garden and remember the fun time we had…and fun is an understatement. Everything we do together turns into a crazy adventure.

Speaking of adventures…

Next week is Dan and I’s anniversary. Crazy to think we have been together this long! I know for quite a number of years the roads turned into a wash board with huge obstacles, but no matter what we continue to try and give our all to each other and our family. I had an opportunity to return to work. The assistant store manager quit. I was so excited that I’d be able to go back to work. But in that excitement I had blinded myself to reality. The reality is I’m not going to be able to make it work. Living in two different states is just not an option and I’m not willing to pull my kids out of the schools they are attending. They are in really good schools and most importantly, they are excelling for once. That was my main reason. The second reason came from looking how far we have come as a family. There are no more fights and not more anger here. Sure we squabble from time to time, but for the most part we have learned how to communicate with each other that does not require yelling. We learned how to listen first, ponder second, third answer. Things are still very tight in the budget, but we’ve had worse times. I think towards the end of summer, when the kids go back to school, I’ll start looking for a job. This summer I’ll be busy with kids and the garden. Give myself some time to heal up and get back on my feet.

Well, I should get my body moving this morning. My number one goal is to clean out the fridge. I try to do that every so often. It’s a bit empty because we were at the end of payday period. Tomorrow we will fill it up after we go grocery shopping. Hope to spend the weekend cleaning up the back yard.

(
)
(_)0

Leave a Reply

