Good Visit! Changes ?

So the entire weekend Dan and I were figuring out how to approach the doctor about the the CIPN.  For those that do not know what that it it is: chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy.  Basicallyit is, “…a set of symptoms caused by damage to the nerves that are further away from the brain and spinal cord. These distant nerves are called peripheral nerves. They carry sensations (feeling) to the brain and control the movement of our arms and legs.” (ACS)

CIPN is permanent over time.  By now, seeing as I’ve only had one round of this new chemo series, the effects should be fading….but they are not.  So my oncologist is going to talk to Dr H in Denver about possibly a different treatment, eliminating the IX chemo, or changing the dose.  I’m thankful he took me serious.  Now, the issue with my eyes.  (laughing) This could possibly be cataracts which, yes is caused by chemo.  Now cataracts runs like wild fire in our family.  So it’s no surprise.    Tomorrow I see an ophthalmologist and find out whats going on.

Leaving the cancer center I couldn’t help bu laugh.  Who would have thought at 31 I’d have a 9 inch fake portion of my femur, a knee replacement, menopause and possible cataract surgery?  You have to admit it’s funny to think about.  Most people having these things done are almost twice my age.  I guess when I hit that age I’m going to really be living the golden years.

 

Still – it left Dan and I questioning if this treatment was worth the long-term effects.  It was really a matter of deciding what sort of quality of life a person wants to live. We both agreed that this is not something we are willing to continue if the effects are going to intensify and get worse.  We are pleased to hear the oncologist agrees.

 

I got a new photography challenge and I think tomorrow morning I’m going to get out and see what I can do.  I just hope I can muster enough strength in my hands to hold my camera. :S

Leave a Reply

