Doors

The doors we open and close each day decide the lives we live.”
-Flora Whittenmore

Have you ever thought about the doors you pass through each day?

Where those doors are, why we go through them…What purpose does a door have?

Doors are interesting, like gardening we can use the imagery of a door for many metaphors in life.

The door to my world begins with the door above.  My favorite, most anticipated, part of the day starts at 3:30 in the afternoon.  I patiently await in anticipation for that door to open.  It’s like waiting for Christmas morning.

First I hear the air flow and the door rattle.  Signifies another door has opened and closed.  I hear muffled voices…. My heart leaps out of my chest…for I know what is to come.

The floor creeks… I know they are close.

In an instant the door flies open!

A once silent room fills with many voices.

“How was your day, mom?”

“Are you feeling better, mom?”

I tell them yes, but enough about me, tell me about your day!

(
)
(_)0

Leave a Reply

