The First Treatment — Disaster!

So After trying to have a fun filled Easter (gloomy cloud over the entire weekend wouldn’t go away), monday morning came.  We had to be to Denver early in the morning to get my port put in.  A port is a device they put under your skin to access the main vain that runs in your body.  It’s just under my collar bone.  It connects to my the big artery in my neck and runs through to the top of my heart.  As soon as that was done we went over to the cancer center and started the long road of treatment.

 

Treatment process was to be:

Monday I’d show up and get hooked up to an adriamycin pump.  They would connect it to my port.  I’d get to carry this little pump around ion a fanny pack till thursday.  On thursday I’d return to Denver.  Have a blood draw, and get the pump removed.  After blood work was clear, I’d go over to Presbyterian Saint Lukes (PSL) hospital.  I’d check in there.  They would hook me up to an IV and start filling me with Adavan.  The next morning, they’d insert a catheter into my hip artery and run it through the major vain work and get it as close to the tumor in my leg as they could.  The would inject the area with dye.  The was important to see where the chemo was going to go.  They needed to make sure it wouldn’t go into any major skin veins.  Once that was ok, they’d start the 8 hour process of delivering the cisplatin.  The idea behind this process ios to shoot heavy amounts of cisplatin into the tumor.  Tumors grow veins…that’s essentially how they suck the life out of you and grow.  The cisplatin was to enter the tumor this route and start to kill it and that vein network.  They would keep me doped on advan because…as you can imagione you have to be still during the process.  After 8 hours, they’d remove the catheter.  I’d stay in the hospital to get hydration (stuff is highly toxic to kidneys) and to help control side effects.

 

Sounds fantastic, right?  No, really I mean it does!  What an incredible idea and aggressive way to  kill it!  Honestly I was nervous but at the same time excited.  The success rate of this procedure was incredible.  The chances of it returning were almost none and I’D GET TO KEEP MY LEG!!  We would do this treatment 3-4 times.  Then Doctor Kelly would go in and remove a portion of my femur and knee joint.  Replace it with some metal stuff.  Then 3-4 more treatments we’d be done!  Sweet, eh!  I was more worried about that surgery than I was the chemo.

 

So back on track…..  Get to PSL.  Have the procedure done.  I remember very little…but Dan can tell you some really funny stories!  I remember eating the sushi after it was done.  I remember Dan taking me out for a smoke.  I remember waking up saturday morning…thinking it was friday…lol.  I woke up to Dr Henshaw and three other people pulling the covers off my legs to look at them.  I was still a bit groggy from the advan.  I really wasn’t sure what they were doing.  I know someone said something about hydrocortsone.  So they left, I got dressed and me we made the trip home.  I looked like a huge puff ball.  My face was all red and swollen but what caught my eye was this mark on my leg.

 

 

I wasn’t sure what it was fromj, but I remembered being told to put that cream on it.  I really didn’t put much thought into it.

Leave a Reply

